Mothers and Sons

And Mary thanked Simeon for his lovely blessing.

For those of you who follow me on Facebook will know that my eldest son has left home and returned more than once. The first time was to take up a position for one year as a Lay Clerk at Norwich Cathedral. He returned home for the following year to make an album. September he started his Music degree (finally). The house he was planning to move into fell through at the last minute and although he half moved out a couple of times he always came home.

Of all of my children, this DS is the one whom fills me with pride and irritation in equal measure. It would be true to say that the reverse is also (probably) true.

I am of the firm belief that to enjoy all that university has to offer, students should not live at home. I have supported all my children in their strive for independence. Or so I thought.

On the way to Mass on Sunday, he blithely informed me that they (the members of the band) had found a house and were all off to look at it this week. This should not have come as any great surprise. Over the last few months they had mentioned more than once that they had been looking at various houses in the hope that they could all move out of the parental home into their own. But it did come as a surprise and my heart stopped for just a moment. My son was moving out and I would miss him. All of him!

And when the Gospel was proclaimed an epiphany occurred, like Mary, my heart too was pierced, and will continue to be so. For that is the cost of being a parent. Not that I would want it any other way.

CPW 022

‘—and you yourself a sword will pierce—’ Luke 2:22-40

Picture is of a sculpture at Downside School, Bath.

5 thoughts on “Mothers and Sons

  1. I know Rebekah – pain is the price we pay we for loving, that’s the deal and, like you, I wouldn’t change it. xxx

  2. When my eldest moved out I was so excited for her I wanted to move into the flat with her.. When she moved back in, two years later, I was equally as excited.

    However, I am excited at the prospect of her moving on next year, perhaps it’s different for dads.

  3. From conception to birth; the heart is open to breathtaking joy also heart clenching fear, the price for love! every time those words are preached,
    esp,-you yourself a sword will pierce, you just know / you just know!!!.

Leave a Reply

